511 Harrington Highway | Eden, NC | 336.627-2600

Print This Page
RCS District Profile
RCS Logo

Rockingham County Schools

511 Harrington Highway

Eden, North Carolina 27288

Phone:  336.627.2600  Fax:  336.627.2660

Superintendent's E-mail:  rshotwell@rock.k12.nc.us

RCS Website Address:  www.rock.k12.nc.us

Organized in 1993

Vision Statement

Rockingham County Schools will empower all students to compete globally.


Mission Statement

Rockingham County Schools will provide a safe, dynamic and globally competitive education environment in which all students can reach their highest potential.

# of RCS Schools: 25

Elementary (PreK-5) - 15
Middle (6-8) - 4
High (9-12) - 4
Early College (9-13) - 1
Alternative School - 1 
 To view information on Student Performance (Graduation Rate & Drop Out Rate), Demographics, Enrollment, Staff Information, Child Nutrition, Transportation, Maintenance or Budgets view the RCS Finacial Annual Report:
Click here to view the RCS Annual Financial Report.
The Annual Report is updated each spring for the prior school year
(this is due to the reporting periods of the data provided in the Annual Report).  


RCS 2016-2017
Board of Education
Click here for the BOE Directory
Amanda Bell, Chair
District 1
Bob Wyatt, Vice Chair   District 4
Virginia Hoover
Brent Huss
District 2
Wayne Kirkman
District 3
Lorie McKinney
Ron Price
Lynn Tuttle
Ophelia Wright
Click here to view RCS' 2016-2020 Strategic Plan. 

RCS District Administration Executive Officers
Dr. Rodney Shotwell, Superintendent
Dr. Sonja Parks, Assistant Superintendent, Operations & Logistics
Dr. Cindy Corcoran, Assistant Superintendent, Instructional Support Services
Dr. Charles Perkins, Assistant Superintendent, K-12 Curriculum and Instruction
Mr. Parker Turpin, Chief Financial Officer
Mr. Jonathan Craig, Executive Director, Human Resources

Click here to view RCS Test Results. 

Administrators of the Year
Principal: Ann Mitchell,  Reidsville High
Assistant Principal:  Hunter Smoothers, McMichael High
RCS Teacher of the Year
Nicky Edwards - Morehead High School
School-Based Teachers of the Year


Elementary Schools:

Amy Allen - Bethany Elementary

Sonia Prichard - Central Elementary

Teresa Strickland - Dillard Elementary

Jessica James - Douglass Elementary

Reba Johnson - Draper Elementary

Kim Threewitt - Huntsville Elementary

Deborah Williams - Leaksville-Spray Elementary

Judi Walker - Lincoln Elementary

Natalie Jobe - Monroeton Elementary

Megan Pickell - Moss Street Elementary

Leslie Suddreth - New Vision Elementary

Wendy Pruitt - South End Elementary                                       

Denise Sears - Stoneville Elementary

Maria Verdi - Wentworth Elementary

Lauryn Thornton - Williamsburg Elementary


Middle Schools:

Janice Castle - Holmes Middle

Gabriela Anaya-Barrera - Reidsville Middle

Jennifer Rakestraw - Rockingham County Middle

Kelly Terry - Western Rockingham Middle


High Schools:

Lyn Carlisle - McMichael High

Nicky Edwards - Morehead High

Marilyn Faeth - Reidsville High

Erin Hughes - Rockingham County High

Laura Collins - Rockingham Early College High


Alternative School:

Susie Phillips - The SCORE Center












Interested in more detailed reports?  Check out our Data & Statistics Page! 
Click here.