Common Core State Standards 

     Common Core

    Common Core State Standards (CCSS) are a set of shared, Kindergarten through 12th grade national standards in English Language Arts and Mathematics.  The Common Core standards will allow teachers to develop students’ understanding of the content on a deeper level by focusing on the most vital concepts. The Common Core standards also build in complexity from one grade level to the next.


    North Carolina Essential Standards 


    NC Essential Standards North Carolina Essential Standards are the content area standards developed specific to North Carolina. While Common Core State Standards include only English Language Arts and Mathematics, North Carolina has created Essential Standards for all other subject areas.  The Essential Standards are aligned with Common Core Literacy Standards across all content areas including

                                                    Social Studies
                                                    Arts Education
                                                    Healthful Living
                                                    Instructional and Technology Skills
                                                    English Language Development
                                                    Career and Technical Education 

    For additional information regarding the Common Core and Essential Standards please review the following links:


    If you have questions regarding Common Core and Essential Standard Information, please contact your child’s teacher.

Last Modified on February 10, 2016