Return to Headlines

Congratulations RCS National Board Certification Renewals







December 12, 2018

The National Board for Professional Teaching Standards (NBPTS) recently recognized nine Rockingham County teachers as successfully completing their National Board Certification (NBCT) renewal credentials. 


National Board Certification is considered one of the highest credentials in the teaching profession, and participation is voluntary. Teachers achieve certification through a rigorous performance-based assessment and measures what accomplished teachers and counselors should know and be able to do.  This certification must be renewed every 10 years. 


Rockingham County Schools congratulates the following educators on their renewal accomplishment:


Tracey Anderson, Rockingham County Middle/Rockingham County High

Beth Blaney, Bethany Elementary

Mechelle Hershman, Bethany Elementary

Lisa Johnson, Williamsburg Elementary

Sharon Jones, Rockingham County High

Beth Poplin, McMichael High

John Robertson, Central Elementary

Jennifer Walkinshaw, Reidsville Middle

Jennifer Wray, Monroeton Elementary


Our NBCT renewals will be recognized by the Rockingham County Board of Education at the regularly scheduled Board of Education Meeting in February 2019.